top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

bag, borrow, or steal?

"I like my money right where I can see it... Hanging in my closet." Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw Sex in The City

In the closet of Carrie Bradshaw one would marvel at her collection of designer shoes. In fact, Carrie B's favorite heel purchase was practically unknown (to girls like me) until she came along. Manolo Blahnik should thank SJP! Over the last decade In today's fashion economy, both Carrie B. and SJP have emerged as proponents of Marie Antoinettes dress-up or get-out approach to fashion. She is a leader in the accessories department bringing me to this article I recently read.

The Shoe and bag industry is booming. Plain and simple. According to WWD, apparel's share of the mall market fell to 58 percent from 60 percent, while fashion, accessories and beauty products jumped to 32 percent from 27 percent. What exactly does this mean? Well, when you go out to make a purchase, what do you normally spend on? Shoes, Bags and accessories right? I mean when you want to complete an outfit, a pricey purchase on a statement bag makes more sense especially in this economy than a similar purchase of a blouse or jacket. A purse is more versatile and will accompany you much more than a blouse which is limited. The same goes with shoes, sunglasses and sometimes even a belt!! smaller less expensive purchases that are all the rage are statement lipsticks (like the RiRiWoo lipstick by Mac) or a new nail polish.

But as all good things come to an end, I predict women will tire of having so many bags and look again with favor on apparel. Until then, I will go on and purchase my next big thing... A classic quilted bag! (Similar to the one above)

bottom of page